SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - DECEMBER 26: Sydney FC captain Alex Brosque kicks a penalty goal during the round 12 A-League match between Sydney FC and the Central Coast Mariners at Allianz Stadium on December 26, 2015 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)

Sydney FC have named a 25-man Asian Champions League squad.

Marquee striker Filip Holosko and defender Jacques Faty are the two foreigners to miss out on selection, with the ACL regulations only permitting three non-Asian foreigners in each 25-man squad.

“I’ve spoken with all of the players and they are all good with the decision,” Sky Blues' coach Graham Arnold said.

“I’ve picked the squad based on trying to succeed in both the Champions League and in the A-League.

“There’s going to be a lot of travel and a lot of games in a short period of time and we have to be very careful how we use the players so they don’t break down.

“Filip has struggled getting used to the hard pitches in the A-League this season having come from Europe and has been nursing a niggling hamstring injury all campaign.

“He wants to concentrate on the A-League season and get used to playing on the hard pitches.  After speaking with him we both felt that he would be best served saving himself for the A-League and avoiding the long travel which could put his whole season in jeopardy.

“We brought in David Carney which provides us with ample cover on the flank, and we still have Christopher Naumoff, Andrew Hoole and George Blackwood who can play there as well.

“Jacques is equally happy with avoiding the long travel and preserving his body to win the A-League title and again we have a big squad to cover his absence."

The Sky Blues begin their ACL campaign on Wednesday February 24 against Urawa Red Diamonds in Saitama, Japan.

Sydney FC AFC Champions League Squad:

1.Vedran JANJETOVIC (gk), 2.Seb RYALL, 4. Zac ANDERSON, 5.Matt JURMAN, 6.Robert STAMBOLZIEV, 7.Andrew HOOLE, 8.Milos DIMITRIJEVIC, 9.Shane SMELTZ, 10.Milos NINKOVIC, 11.Christopher NAUMOFF, 12.Jacob TRATT, 13.Brandon O’NEILL, 14.Alex BROSQUE, 16. Riley WOODCOCK, 17.David CARNEY, 18.Matt SIMON, 20.Ivan NECEVSKI (gk), 22.Ali ABBAS, 23.Rhyan GRANT, 24.George BLACKWOOD, 25. Aaron CALVER, 26.Max BURGESS, 27.Mickael TAVARES, 28.Alex MULLEN, 30.Antony BOUZANIS.