Which team will walk away with the Hyundai A-League trophy in 2016/17? (Photo by Mark Kolbe/Getty Images)

Sydney FC overcame a slow start against Melbourne City to go on and win a record fifth A-League Championship.

The winning goal came in extra time to break the hearts of all  City fans, with Rhyan Grants strike in the 100th minute breaking the deadlock and gifting Sydney the victory.

The Sky Blues have one three championships in the last four years going back-to-back this season.

In the opening half, City looked on top and could’ve had a goal next to their name before a VAR intervention, eventually overturning harrison Delbridge's strike.

Had it of counted the scoreline and champions could’ve been different.

In the second half, it was a tighter contest. But neither side managed to find themselves on the scoresheet before the end of the opening 90 minutes.

Come extra-tim, Sydney lifted. Grant and Luke Brattan stepped up when it mattered with the former awarded the Joe Marston Medal as player of the match.

"It was nice, maybe a little bit lucky with it but I thought I'd put the 'keeper off with the chest rather than the head and it looked like it worked, so happy days," Grant told Fox Sports at full-time.

Sydney coach, Steve Corica described Grant as the "energiser bunny" post-match.

"He's energetic, leads by example by doing all the running and the pressing and being aggressive, that's a big part of the game these days and he leads by example.

"You could see when he was out [for] a couple of games we really missed him ... He's the best right-back in the country."