MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - APRIL 18: Daniel Arzani of Melbourne City speaks to the media during a Melbourne City FC A-League media opportunity at City Football Academy on April 18, 2018 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Daniel Pockett/Getty Images)

Tim Cahill’s dream of making history at the World Cup in Russia has been given a boost, after he was named in Bert van Marwijk’s provisional squad. With the squad being trimmed to 26 later next week, Cahill will be a nervous man after failing to impress after his move to second tier England outfit Millwall.

Cahill’s former Melbourne City teammate Daniel Arzani has been included in the squad after some dazzling displays in the second half of the A-League season.

Arzani is joined by fellow A-League forward Dimi Petratos who impressed van Marwijk is the A-League decider on Saturday night, as well as Western Sydney Wanderers right back Josh Ridson and Sydney midfielder Josh Brillante.

The squad is very similar to the last squad named earlier this year, with Mile Jedinak, Tom Rogic, Mat Ryan, Aaron Mooy and Trent Sainsbury establishing themselves as the core players in the squad.

The most surprising selection however was of right back Fran Karacic who plies his trade in Croatia’s first division, and is someone who seriously looms as a smoky for the final squad.


* Will be cut to 23 ahead of opening game against France


Mat Ryan (Brighton and Hove Albion FC, England), Danny Vukovic (KRC Genk, Belgium), Brad Jones (Feyenoord, Holland), Mitch Langerak (Nagoya Grampus, Japan)


Aziz Behich (Bursaspor, Turkey), Milos Degenek (Yokohama F. Marinos, Japan), Matthew Jurman (Suwon Bluewings, Korea), James Meredith (Millwall, England), Josh Risdon (Western Sydney), Trent Sainsbury (Grasshoppers Zurich, Switzerland), Aleksandar Susnjar (FK Mlada Boleslav, Czech Republic), Bailey Wright (Bristol City, England), Alex Gersbach (Lens, France), Fran Karacic (Lokomotiva Zagreb, Croatia)


Josh Brillante (Sydney FC), Mile Jedinak (Aston Villa, England), Mark Milligan (Al Ahli, Saudi Arabia), Robbie Kruse (Bochum, Germany), Jackson Irvine (Hull, England), Massimo Luongo (Queens Park Rangers, England), Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield, England), Tom Rogic (Celtic, Scotland), James Troisi (Melbourne Victory).


Tim Cahill (Millwall, England), Tomi Juric (FC Luzern, Switzerland), Mattew Leckie (Hertha Berlin, Germany), Andrew Nabbout (Urawa Red Diamonds, Japan), Nikita Rukavytsya (Maccabi Haifa, Israel), Dimitri Petratos (Newcastle Jets), Jamie Maclaren (Hibernian, Scotland), Daniel Arzani (Melbourne City), Apostolos Giannou (AEK Larnaca, Cyprus).