PFA Players awards announced

Mat Ryan and Steph Catley are the PFA’s men’s and women’s footballers of the year.

LONDON, ENGLAND - OCTOBER 01: Mathew Ryan of Brighton and Hove Albion gives his team instructions during the Premier League match between Arsenal and Brighton and Hove Albion at Emirates Stadium on October 1, 2017 in London, England. (Photo by Julian Finney/Getty Images)

Australia’s professional footballers have voted for their PFA’s men’s and women’s footballers of the year.

Socceroos goalkeeper Mat Ryan named the PFA’s men’s footballer of the year.

Ryan won the award for the second consecutive year and third time overall, based on his efforts with Brighton & Hove Albion and for the Socceroos.

The 28-year-old helped Brighton avoid relegation in the English Premier League.

Ryan captained Australia in World Cup qualifying wins over Taiwan and Jordan.

Other nominees were three-times PFA player of the year Aaron Mooy, Korea-based striker Adam Taggart and FC Midtjylland winger Awer Mabil.

Matildas left-back Steph Catley have been named the PFA’s women’s footballer of the year.

Catley was voted women’s player of the year for the first time, beating four-time winner Sam Kerr and Emily van Egmond.

Catley captained Melbourne City to an unbeaten W-League premiership-championship double.

The 26-year-old continues to deliver standout performances for the Matildas and now playes for Arsenal in the Womens Super League in England.

Young women’s footballer of the year went to Ellie Carpenter

Carpenter won the award after a brilliant season with W-League champions Melbourne City, beating 2019 recipient Karly Roestbakken and youth international Kyra Cooney-Cross.

The 20-year-old backed up her club form with great performances for the Matildas, earning a move to European champions Olympique Lyonnais.