GEELONG, AUSTRALIA - OCTOBER 27: Jamie Maclaren of Melbourne City kicks a goal during the round three A-League match between Western United and Melbourne City at GMHBA Stadium on October 27, 2019 in Geelong, Australia. (Photo by Daniel Pockett/Getty Images)

The Hyundai A-League season will resume on Thursday July 16 with the Melbourne Victory hosting fellow Victorians Western United at AAMI Park in Melbourne.

The next game scheduled will be Sydney FC vs Wellington Phoenix with no other games locked in at this stage, with the A-league looking at “multiple draw options” to complete the remaining 27 games over 28 days.

“We have developed multiple draw options for the completion of the regular season,” FFA’s Head of Leagues, Greg O’Rourke stated.

“All options commence with Victory taking on Western United at AAMI Park followed by a game between the table topping Sydney FC against third-placed Wellington Phoenix at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium the following day.”

“The reason for having multiple draw options — which our clubs are across — is due to the fact that over the next few weeks there may be additional relaxations in border restrictions and travel movements in Australia, which may enable our clubs from Victoria, Queensland and South Australia to remain and play in their home cities, rather than relocating to New South Wales to complete the season.”

“Regardless of which option we ultimately take, Wellington Phoenix and Perth Glory FC understand that they will complete the remainder of their regular season matches in New South Wales, with games to be played at Bankwest Stadium in Parramatta, Netstrata Jubilee Stadium in Kogarah, and McDonald Jones Stadium in Newcastle.

“We are confident that we will be able to release the revised draw for the completion of the Hyundai A-League 2019/20 season soon.”

Players can resume training tomorrow, subject to successful completion of COVID-19 protocols.

Sydney FC will resume the season eight points clear of second-placed Melbourne City, despite playing three less games.