ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - FEBRUARY 17: Match ball pictured during the round 20 A-League match between Adelaide United and the Central Coast Mariners at Coopers Stadium on February 17, 2018 in Adelaide, Australia. (Photo by Mark Brake/Getty Images)

The December kick-off date will also bring in the arrival of the A-League’s 12th club, Macarthur FC, who will compete in their inaugural season just a year after Victoria’s Western United were added.

“This year’s calendar sees us kicking off two seasons of Australia’s best football on the same day, right in the middle of summer,” head of leagues Greg O’Rourke said.

”The men’s competition now features 12 teams, including three in Sydney and three in Melbourne, meaning more derbies, more intensity and more fans.

“With families at home together during the holiday season, great weather, and games broadcast live on multiple platforms, there are so many ways for fans to be close to the action, at home or in the stadium.”

The full fixture schedule for both leagues, will be released in early November.